Murano Glass  Forums  

Go Back   Murano Glass Forums > What is it worth? / Is it real?

Old 11-09-2011, 04:50 PM

Question foal/colts foot shaped vase

Hi, hopefully I have got this question in the right place this time. I have a pair of vases, from a collection of red glassware I inherited from my parents, lots of Whitefriars, Venetian and other red glass, I thought they were something that had been damaged and maybe had been ground at the neck and was going to throw them out, but purely by chance I have seen the exact same vase on an online auction site saying it was Vintage Murano, I would like to know if anybody can give me any information on the vase regarding age, value etc., I have attached some photographs of one of them. I am just learning how to use and I hope that I have done everything properly. Thankyou
Attached Images

Old 11-10-2011, 06:18 AM

Hi angelina I dont think your vase Murano in origin for one the base shape does not say Murano to me ,they look more Czech in shape or modern Chinese at least 30% of items advertised on ebay as Murano are not,however perhaps you could post a picture of base I have encountered Chinese glass that is finished at the top as your vase is.A picture of base may illicit more.Cliff
Old 11-10-2011, 09:57 AM

thankyou Cliff for your info and time, I have taken more photos of the base as you suggested.
One of the bases is quite dimpled the other has ring effects, dont know if that is of any use.
I dont know where they came from, my late father was an antique dealer, both selling and collecting so they could be from anywhere. A lot of red glass items do get described as Murano or Whitefriars - I for one am guilty of thinking some of my pieces were Whitefriars and they werent - I just wish I had found this forum before it would have saved me hours and hours of researching, although that bit was fun I find it very frustrating at times. Thankyou once again and I hope the extra photos will shed more light.
Attached Images